What causes server lag and why you should care.

Discussion in 'Naval Play Discussion' started by Animefan162a, May 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Animefan162a

Animefan162a Member
    Server Administrator

Greetings everyone, I find it rather absurd and frustrating that I even have to write this but the new players frequently complain about lag without understanding anything about it's nature. Now I will admit I am not an expert on lag, but this is what I've figured out from my 5 years playing here.

Lag on Naval Play 2 (hereafter referred to as "NP2") is caused by 2 main factors: Collisions, and Constraints. Both of these stress out not only the Server Hosting Software (hereafter referred to as "SHS") but also the Source(tm) Physics Engine itself (hereafter referred to as "SPE"), more on that in a moment.

Collisions are basically how two (or more) props collide or forcefully repel each other based on the physics rules as set out by the SPE. The SPS and SPE need to calculate collisions on every prop, on every vehicle, every second.

Constraints are basically physical interactions made between props by tools such as Weld and No-collide, the SHS and SPE need to make calculations based on how many constraints between every prop, on every vehicle, every second.

Now let's discuss the SPE, this has a maximum set number of collisions and constraints it can smoothly calculate at one time; go over this maximum, and the server will start to lag.

This is further limited by the SHS, weaker SHS or a lower allocation of CPU on a Hosting Server means it takes even less collisions or constraints to lag the gamemode.